Complete Guide to Disabling Autosave Feature in WordPress Using cPanel

Complete Guide to Disabling Autosave Feature in WordPress Using cPanel

WordPress has this really useful feature called “Autosave” that automatically saves the changes you’ve made in the WordPress system. This is before you finally save the changes.

But one of the drawbacks of this Autosave feature is it uses too much bandwidth. It communicates with the server all too often. Imagine when there are multiple authors or admins making changes simultaneously. This can put too much pressure on the server to handle.

Therefore, some WordPress website owners decide to disable the Autosave feature. If you’re one of them, then this guide is for you. Here, we explain how you can disable Autosave using cPanel.

Step-by-step Process to Disable Autosave

The process of disabling the autosave feature starts with editing the wp-config.php file. The file (among others) is responsible for communication between the website data and the database. It comprises of the authentication keys that contain the login credentials.

In this tutorial, we’ll be using the cPanel to make the modification. You can always use FTP if you’re comfortable with it.
  • Login to your cPanel with the right credentials
  • Search “File Manager” which can be found under the Files section
  • On the left-hand side panel, find “public_html” directory and click on it
  • If you’ve got only one website, you’ll find all the files inside of this directory, which also is the root folder. If you manage multiple website, then select the website first and then you’ll proceed ahead
  • Inside the public_html directory, find the “wp-config.php” file. Right-click on it and click “Edit
  • When a pop-up appears, click on Edit that you want to disable encoding
  • Another tab will open which contains the codes in the wp-config.php file
  • Copy and paste the following code
Code:
define('AUTOSAVE_INTERVAL', 86400);
Here, you’ve increased the autosave time to 86400 seconds. So it will automatically save your every 86400 seconds. Save the changes and exit.

Now you no longer have to worry about autosave feature consuming high bandwidth.

In case of further assistance, contact the hosting provider.
Author
kumkumsharma
Views
210
First release
Last update
Rating
0.00 star(s) 0 ratings

More resources from kumkumsharma

Top